Discussions With Dao

Podcasts and Audio Archive of Jon Dao

JNOC 50: Carson Harper

JNOC 50

 

Heyo, friends and Fitocrats! Over the span of three years, it seems like we’ve finally hit a good groove with our personal trainer/mock client approach.  Hitting our 50th (!) episode, however, we decided to do a throwback to our old style and highlight an everyday Fitocracy user.

Up there you can see Carson’s most recent 11 month progress picture. In this episode, hear how he transformed his life through the power of weights. Stay tuned for the latter half for a special bonus!

Tweetables:

Quotables:

“I was never, ever fit. I was beyond sedentary. I used to joke about it. Like I’m a computer guy, I don’t care. I don’t need my physical body. I just thought of myself as my brain rolling around in this… meat sack.”

“The hardest part early on [were] those days when the progress wasn’t coming along as fast as those P90X commercials… It’s tough to manage expectations when all you’ve seen is infomercials or doctor whoever. I think there’s a lot of misinformation out there that leads a lot of people to quit because they feel like something’s wrong with them. And they have… dun dun dun… ‘bad genetics’. It’s just not true. You’re just a person. You just got to keep going at it for longer than 2 weeks.”

“My Mom always says, “Never compare your beginning to someone else’s middle’.”

“Lyle McDonald says, ‘Ass-busting effort + time = results.”

“When you’re out there looking for your gurus, pay attention to when people will say ‘I’m admitting, this is my approach, and you can try it out and see what’s best for you’. Whenever you come across somebody that’s like ‘this program is the absolute perfect program for everyone at every point’… they’re probably trying to sell you something.”

References:

Fitocracy on Penny-Arcade

Greg Nuckol’s Squatting Approach

Fito’s 30 Under 30

 Team Blackout

Leave a Reply

