Discussions With Dao

Podcasts and Audio Archive of Jon Dao

JNOC 35: Andy Morgan

AndyDuckface

The Intermittent Fasting Gentleman, Andy Morgan, returns! He shares his adventures in America, newfound insight, and tackles a few fitocracy fan questions. Here’s the contents of this show:

Promax Contest (:31)

Chase’s Aesthetics (3:02)

Pressures of Personal Trainer Aesthetics (4:26)

Kellie Davis Fan Q: Dollar Trick (12:37)

The Dice Man (17:41)

Jumping Off a Bridge (19:45)

People Stress Too Much Over Dieting (24:51)

EndlessV3rtigo Fan Q: Tracking Macros (30:07)

joshclark87 Fan Q: Nutrition on a Budget (34:48)

ZyPH3R Fan Q: Workouts Gone Good (40:38)

Unbroken: A World War II Story (43:23)

Also available on iTunes, Stitcher Radio, and Direct Download HERE

-Special Note from Andy-

A Clarification

In the podcast I talked about a book called, “The Dice Man” and using a die to help you make decisions so you can live a more random and thus perhaps more fulfilling life.

Last year was pretty tough. I picked up a couple of injuries that I was having trouble rehabbing. My mum got sick again in a way that was far worse then I could ever remember seeing as a child. Then a few months later my Nan (grandmother) and cousin passed away.
Though it sounds clichéd, it made me realise that life can be pretty short. I felt that recently I had allowed myself to get into a routine and had stopped feeling the adventure that I felt when I travelled more when I was younger. So I started taking more and more opportunities to travel as they presented themselves and my own training and nutrition took a back-burner for a good eight months.

The result? A drop of around 20% in my main lifts, ~10lbs of fat gain, ~5-8lbs of muscle loss.

Bothered? Not really. – I know how to get back in good shape fairly quickly because I’ve done it before, and I don’t worry about being judged as I think the consistent results I get for clients speak for themselves.

The main message here I’d like to give to people is – don’t be a slave to your physique goals. Your worth is not connected to how you look, it’s who you are as a person, how you treat and affect the lives of those you meet. Though we all do sometimes, try not to connect changes in your physique to your self-esteem.
Don’t be afraid to travel. it’s ok to not be in tip-top shape. The ‘damage’ will be a lot less than you fear, and the memories will last forever.

Finally, I’m happy to say that my mum’s condition is now much improved, I’ve seen a guy that I consider to be the best in the business helping me get on track with rehab work (non-gym injury related), and I’m sure that my Nan is in heaven checking my Facebook updates on her new iPhone and is finally happy in the knowledge that, yes, I do actually have friends in ‘China’.

Andy

6 comments on “JNOC 35: Andy Morgan

  1. Pingback: Second Podcast | RippedBody.jp

  2. Taylor
    July 7, 2013

    I actually stopped listening after your groping dollar trick. If you did that to someone I knew I would beat the shit out of you you fucking pervert. Lost all respect for you

    • CommDao
      July 10, 2013

      Pretty intense, but I can see where you’re coming from. Those feelings aren’t unfounded.

      Thanks for writing in, Taylor!

  3. Pingback: Keys to Language Acquisition | Speech Coach for Public Speaking, English Speaking, and Personal Communication

  4. Pingback: The Low Dao 63: Andy Morgan | Discussions With Dao

  5. Pingback: Life in Japan: How a 1 Year Stay Becomes a Decade | JETwit.com

Leave a Reply

